key areas | engage & reward | educator recognition | recognized educators

Recognized Educators

2019 Ohio Teacher of the Year

InkedMona - Copy_LI.JPG

Mona Al-Hayani

Toledo Early College High School

Toledo Public Schools

Toledo, OH

Educator Profile

The fact that I’ve been named Ohio Teacher of the Year is something beyond imagination, and I accept it on behalf of all Toledo Public School teachers, teachers in the state of Ohio, and the public education system, because we are a community. I’m just proud that I can represent that community, and I will do my best to bring a light to the needs of public education.
— Mona Al-Hayani, 2019 Ohio Teacher of the Year

2018-19 Milken Educator: Ohio


Krista Trent

4th grade math teacher

Thornville Elementary School

Northern Local School District

Educator Profile

Humor and hard work are paying dividends in Krista Trent’s classroom. Krista’s unwavering commitment to nurturing the love of learning in every student, all the while achieving top marks, is inspiring.
— Dr. Jane Foley, Milken Educator Awards Senior Vice President

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST): 2016 cohort, Ohio

PAEMST_2016_Math_Joselyn Teisman.jpg

Jocelyn Teismann


Wilson Elementary

Cincinnati, OH

Educator Profile

The Presidential Award affirms a dedication to creating meaningful learning experiences that make a difference in students’ lives. Collaboration with many phenomenal colleagues, curious students, and encouraging parents has inspired me to seek innovative ideas in education... This distinguished award celebrates reflection and action to motivate students to be amazing individuals passionate about learning.
— Jocelyn Teismann, PAEMST Awardee

Vicki Willett


Licking Heights West Elementary School

Blacklick, OH

Educator Profile

Being awarded the Presidential Award is a dream come true. It is truly a humbling experience to be considered part of the teaching community, believing in the importance of wonder and discovery that accompanies science... This is my Heisman Trophy, and I could not be more honored and excited to have been chosen.
— Vicki Willett, PAEMST Awardee